Canadian MSK Rehab Research Network - Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation Research
You are using a browser that is not standards-compliant (possibly Netscape 4). The information on this Web site will be accessible to you, but for a list of Web browsers that comply with the World Wide Web Consortium standards, please visit our Web standards page.

About Us..Technical Groups

Biomechanics Group

Canada boasts biomechanics research facilities that are among the finest in the world, including state-of-the-art movement analysis laboratories and imaging modalities situated at leading institutions from coast-to-coast, typically strategically located in clinical research centres. The Biomechanics Group is working to generate collaboration among biomechanics research centres across Canada and identify key research priorities in the area.  


Name

Research Area

 

Ashe, Maureen

Mobility, physical activity, sedentary behaviour, behaviour change, lifestyle interventions, workplace sitting, built environment, social environment, active and public transportation, KT

maureen.ashe@ubc.ca

Beaton, Dorcas

MSK, smaller joint replacement (ankle, elbow, shoulder, upper extremity, fragility fractures)

BeatonD@smh.ca

Beaupreau, Lauren

Trauma (hip fracture), upper extremity, total joint arthroplasty

Lauren.Beaupre@alberta
healthservices.ca

Begon, Mickael

Shoulder, gait, work-related shoulder disorders

mickael.begon@umontreal.ca

Birmingham, Trevor

Knee osteoarthritis, biomechanics, gait analysis, disease initiation and progression models, risk factors (sex, obesity), mathematical/statistical modeling

tbirming@uwo.ca

Bouyer, Laurent

Remote movement monitoring , upper & lower extremity, running injury, effect of pain on motor control & motor learning, movement control in the lab and in the field/work place, robotics in rehab Laurent J. Email

laurent.Bouyer@rea.ulaval.ca

Carlesso, Lisa

Low back and neck disorders; knee pain/osteoarthritis, chronic pain, epidemiology

lisa.carlesso@umontreal.ca

Choinièere, Manon

Transition from acute to chronic low back pain; knee and thumb OA; biospsychosocial and economic consequences of chronic pain; management of chronic pain

manon.choiniere@
umontreal.ca

Cote, Julie

Upper extremity, work-related MSK disorders, sex/gender

julie.cote2@mcgill.ca

Deluzio, Kevin

Biomechanical factors of knee OA, non-surgical interventions for knee OA, MSK modeling of human gait, analysis of biomechanical waveform data

kevin.deluzio@queensu.ca

Desmeules, François


Mobility, osteoarthritis, join arthroplasty

f.desmeules@umontreal.ca

Dionne, Clermont


MSK pain

clermont.dionne@
crchudequebec.ulaval.ca

Emery, Carolyn

Injury Prevention, Consequences of Joint Injury, Osteoarthritis, Concussion, JIA, CP

caemery@ucalgary.ca

Ferber, Reed

Clinical gait biomechanics, big data, running, osteoarthritis, wearable technology

rferber@ucalgary.ca

Ferreira, Louis

Upper extremity, post-surgical joint replacement rehab

lferreir@uwo.ca

Gagnon, Dany

Upper extremity, trunk,  lower extremity, repetitive movements, functional activities, biomechanics, clinical trials

dany.gagnon.2@umontreal.ca

Gross, Anita

Neck

grossa@sympatico.ca

Hunt, Michael Anthony

Clinical biomechanics, MSK rehabilitation; gait retraining, wearable sensors

michael.hunt@ubc.ca

Kozey, Cheryl

Biomechanics, Healthy aging, Knee osteoarthritis, Lower back disorders, Predictive models, Electromyography, Human movement, MSK health, Neuromuscular control, Mobility

cheryl.kozey@dal.ca

Léonard, Guillaume

Pain, work-related MSK disorders

guillaume.leonard2@
usherbrooke.ca

MacDermid, Joy

MSK health (upper extremity/neck), rehab and surgical interventions for MSK disorders, pain and disability, work-related risks, interventions and work disability, KT, gender

jmacderm@uwo.ca

Maly, Monica

OA, aging, knee, biomechanics, mobility, physical activity, exercise, occupational injury, muscle, cartilage

mrmaly@uwaterloo.ca

Marsh, Jackie

Effectiveness and efficiency of MSK health care delivery models, e-health, web-based technology

jmarsh2@uwo.ca

Mercier, Catherine

Central changes observed in MSK disorders and their role in chronicity

catherine.mercier@
rea.ulaval.ca

Perrault, Kadija

Health services research, access to rehabilitation services, pain conditions, interprofessional collaboration, health promotion

kadija.perreault@
fmed.ulaval.ca

Petrella, Rob

Healthy aging, mobility, osteoarthritis, multiple-modality, hypertension, exercise science, healthy lifestyle, primary care, cardiovascular prevention, diabetes, men's health, obesity, clinical trials

petrella@uwo.ca

Robbins, Shawn

Mobility, osteoarthritis, joint arthroplasty

shawn.robbins@mcgill.ca

Robinovitch, Stephen

MSK rehab

stever@sfu.ca

Ronsky, Janet

MSK disorders, lower extremity, spine, scoliosis, neuromotor function and adaptation, knee OA and soft tissue injuries

jlronsky@ucalgary.ca

Roy, Jean-Sébastien

Arthritis / OA, Locomotor Activity / Movement Disorders

Jean-Sebastien.Roy@
fmed.ulaval.ca

Rutherford, Derek

OA Knee/Hip

rutherford.derek4@gmail.com

Sinden, Kathryn

Applied Ergonomics, Occupational Health, Sex/Gender and Work, Knowledge Translation

ksinden@lakeheadu.ca

Teeter, Matthew

Orthopaedic implants and devices, additive manufacturing

Matthew.Teeter@lhsc.on.ca

Tousignant-Laflamme, Yannick

Low back pain, complex regional pain syndrome, chronic pain management

yannick.tousignant-laflamme@usherbrooke.ca

Urquart, Nathan

Sports Medicine, arthroscopy, MSK disorders, knee ligament injury, shoulder instability

nurquhar@dal.ca

Whittaker, Jackie

 

MSK rehab care and services, OA, injury Prevention, locomotor activity/movement disorders, muscle function/motor control, trauma/injuries, public health, pathogenesis and treatment of MSK diseases of the knee and lumbar spine.

jwhittak@ualberta.ca

Wideman, Timothy

Work-related MSK disorders, chronic pain, back pain, OA, fibromyalgia

timothy.wideman@mcgill.ca

Wilson, Janie

biomechanics, biomedical engineering, mobility, balance, falls, ice hockey, injuries, injury prevention, bone fracture, traumatic brain injury

Janie.Wilson@DAL.CA

Wohl, Gregory

Bone mechanics, bone adaptation, MSK tissue mechanics, diet, pharmaceutical effects on MSK tissues and adaptation, bone injury and repair, orthopaedic biomechanics

wohlg@mcmaster.ca

Woodhouse, Linda

Low back pain, soft tissue knee injuries (e.g. Post traumatic knee OA), rheumatology 

linda.woodhouse@ualberta.ca

 

Back to top