You are using a browser that is not standards-compliant (possibly Netscape 4). The information on this Web site will be accessible to you, but for a list of Web browsers that comply with the World Wide Web Consortium standards, please visit our Web standards page.


Pilot Grant Program

Trainee Award Program



Did you know???

Chronic MSK conditions such as arthritis, osteoporosis, tendinopathy, neck/back pain, and acute or gradual onset of work/sports/recreation injuries are a major burden in Canada.






Grants and Awards

Trainee Award Program


Trainees play a vital role in aspects of the Network’s operations. One of the main goals of the Network is to foster new and innovative training opportunities for graduate students and New Investigators.

One of the Network’s major initiatives is our annual Trainee Awards competition that provides financial assistance to students across Canada with outstanding potential to contribute to musculoskeletal health rehabilitation research.



2017 Applications
( Now closed- Info only)

  • Applications for 2017 Trainee Awards closed June 2nd, 2017
  • Click for an Application form

More Info:
Contact Ryan Power (

Eligibility Criteria:

  • outstanding potential to contribute to musculoskeletal health rehabilitation research
  • registered as a full-time graduate student, postdoctoral fellow or clinician scientist in training, and be accepted to an accredited program
  • supervised by a Network Member
  • engaged in research that is clearly relevant to musculoskeletal health rehabilitation


  • participate in network seminar and workshops
  • join at least one of the network groups and participate in related activities
  • submit reporting, as requested by network training and mentoring group
  • formalized cross-disciplinary mentoring team to enhance career development


2017 Trainee Award Recipients

We were thrilled with the response in our first year of Trainee Awards. The Selection Committee chose to fund more than the initially budgeted total of eight awards, and ultimately provided over $60,000 in total funding to trainees across the country. Below are the awardees for 2017:



Network Mentor(s)

Babatunde, Folarin

McMaster University

Joy MacDermid, Dave Walton

Clouthier, Alison

Queens University

Kevin Deluzio

Davis, Elysia

Dalhousie University

Janie Astephen-Wilson

Decary, Simon

Universite de Montreal

Francois Desmeules

Deslauriers, Simon

Universite Laval

Kadija Perrault, Jean-Sebastien Roy

Docter, Shgufta

Western University

Dianne Bryant, Jackie Marsh

Ejupi, Andreas

Simon Fraser University

Stephen Robinovitch

Le, Christina

University of Alberta

Jackie Whittacker, Linda Woodhouse

Lee, Joshua

Western University

Dave Walton

Nesbitt, Colleen

University of Calgary

Carolyn Emery, Janet Ronsky

Martel, Marylie

Universite de Sherbrooke

Guillaume Leonard, Nathaly Gaudreault

Udden, Zakir

McGill University

Timothy Wideman

Yang, Chen

McGill University

Julie Cote, Mickael Begon


Back to Top